Spring Break… well sort of..

Monday was the first official day of Spring Break for our kiddo’s.

Friday at school we had 3 out of four of the boys with fever, so it was an even earlier beginning to our very looked forward to break (they are all fine now, but it was pretty ugly on Friday). Nothing like 3 sick grouchy boys. LOL

Yesterday, I started my first day of my first Masters class! Woot woot *insert happy dance here*!!

Now because I am obsessive compulsive, I have already posted on the forum (3 times), found 3 articles for my first paper (due Monday), have started taking notes for another forum post, and have thought about my final research paper. This blog is a way for me to take a break.  And.. as a special surprise.. as I am typing this, my textbook just arrived! That just means more work, but right now… at the beginning of the first course, I am excited and not burnt out. So, I will give it my all and do the absolute best I can.

Interestingly enough, just from the first bit of studying that I have done, I realize that there are SO many different ideas and effective ABA treatments that are being utilized right now in the classroom I work in. These boys are definitely getting cutting edge, super powerful, and life-changing interventions. With, and without realizing it, I am learning so very much through my on the job training. I may not have had a name for the stuff we are using, but I am soaking it all in like a sponge. I have finally found what I want to be when I grow up. It is such an enormous weight off my shoulders and makes my whole body smile!

A lot of people that work with special needs kids say “If I make a difference in one kids life, then I will have done my job and be happy.” .. I won’t settle for just one kid. I NEED to make a difference in multiple lives. I desire to help every kid that I come in contact with. EVERY ONE.

Now it is time to get back to learning… studying… soaking it up.

Gentle hugs!

~Kari

6 Comments

Filed under Lessons, Other

6 responses to “Spring Break… well sort of..

  1. Janelle Semmel

    i’m pretty darn proud of my big sissy!!! i love that you are making a difference !!!!!!!!!!! BIG HUGS !

  2. Lynda Daggers

    Kari,
    You make a difference in so many lives already and have for a very long time.
    In the speaking of kind words when needed, the much needed hug, the visit to a friend in the hospital. and oh the never ending patience with flaky forgetful friends.
    You are truly one of a kind and anyone that comes in contact with you will be the better for it. You and your “boys” are a perfect fit because you both learn from each other.
    I am super proud of all that you are and all that you do. I am honored to call you my friend.
    Lots of loves,
    L

  3. You are an amazing woman and I am praying and pulling for you! I know you have already and will continue to do great work and change the lives of many!

Leave a Reply

